The Betty Award - A Writing Contest for Children Ages 8-12


The Betty Award - A Writing Contest for Kids Ages 8-12





Contact Us With Questions About The Betty Award


Click to see a
listing of all past
award winners >>

In honor of my Mother, Betty, who taught all of her 6 children
to love reading and writing at an early age.

The Betty Award has both
a Spring & Fall contest. 
Enter now for the
Spring 2018 contest!  The
deadline for the Spring entries
is May 6, 2018.


First Place: Julia Hocker, Age 12
The Mouse in Monet's Garden
Arlington, VA

Second Place: Nina Vigil, Age 11
The Rockerfeller Adventure
Katonah, NY

Third Place: Adam Blanchard, Age 11
The Painting
Waterloo, Ontario Canada

Honorable Mention: Norah Love Boyle, Age 9
More Than an Orphan
Newton, MA

Honorable Mention: Corey Burns, Age 8
What About Me?
Iuka, MS

How to Enter the Writing Contest:

Simply download The Betty Award Entry Form, type your story and mail it to us with the Reading Fee.

Deadline for Spring 2018 Entries:

All entries must be postmarked no later than May 6, 2018. Winners will be notified by June 15, 2018.


Winning Spring 2018 entries will be published on this website
after June 15, 2018.

Reading Fee:

Win Cash Prizes With The Betty Award Writing Contest

There is a $15 US reading fee per story.
Please make check or money order payable to
The Betty Award.

Contest Rules:

Mail Entries & Reading Fee To:

The Betty Award
P.O. Box 1826
Oak Park, IL 60304

Many thanks to Public Communications, Inc. who assisted with the judging of the Spring 2017 contest.